Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


When do county officials take office?

When the new term begins for county officials, there will be 479 newly elected officials, while 937 county officials elected in November were incumbents and will retain their office.

Most county officials: Jan. 2, 2023

Most county officials take office the first Monday in January after an election. For the most recent election, that’s Jan. 2, 2023. Officials who take the oath of office Jan. 2, 2023, include:

  • Judge/Executives
  • Magistrates and Commissioners
  • Sheriffs
  • Jailers
  • County Attorneys
  • County Clerks
  • Coroners

Property Valuation Administrators (PVAs): Dec. 5, 2022

PVAs take office earlier than their other county official colleagues – although elected in the same year. PVAs take office the first Monday in December after the election, which this year is Dec. 5, 2022.

Other offices

While all other county officials serve four-year terms, circuit court clerks and commonwealth’s attorneys are elected for a term of six years and will next be on the ballot in 2024.


Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601