Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


KACo Presidential Scholarship

KACo awards the presidential scholarship to a selected graduating student in the home county of the current KACo president. 

The 2022 scholarship recipients are Boyle County High School's Abigayle Godbey and Danville High School's Anajah Perrin. Both students received their scholarships from KACo President and Boyle County Magistrate Phil Sammons. 

2023 Presidential Scholarship information

The KACo Presidential Scholarship will be presented in Warren County in 2023. The recipients must attend an in-state college or university or a two-year technical college in the fall following graduation. Applicants must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The online application will be available to students on this page March 1, 2023, and applications must be submitted no later than April 3, 2023, at 5 p.m. EST. To prepare for the application process, students should begin collecting the following:

  • recommendation letter from the staff person at their high school (not to exceed one page);
  • recommendation letter from a local community member (not to exceed one page); and
  • information for a student resume listing activities, clubs, offices held and any honors worth noting.

There will be an essay question for applicants with a response not to exceed 500 words. A scholarship committee composed of KACo board members chooses the recipient or recipients each year. 

Contact Susan Riddell at with any questions.


KACo Presidential Scholarship recipients

2022 - Abigayle Godbey, Boyle County High School and Anajah Perrin, Danville High School
2021 - Julia Kilgore, Berea Community High School and Eddie Woolery, Model Laboratory School
2020 – Bryce Chenot, Boone County High School
2019 – Parker Parrent, Caldwell County High School
2018 – Nicholas Gudgel, Ballard High School
2017 – Cara Daniels, Henderson County High School
2016 – Nicolas Wimms, Franklin-Simpson High School
2015 – Olivia Matlin, Shelby County High School
2014 – Hannah Turner, Warren East High School
2013 – Ryan Hornback, LaRue County High School
2012 – Taylor Domidion, Garrard County High School
2011 – Sarah Elizabeth Mullins, Belfry High School
2010 – Michael Brown, George Rogers Clark High School
2009 – Jordan Thomas, Hopkinsville High School
2008 – Joey Bentley, Spencer County High School
2007 – Leigh Ann Sweasy, Shelby County High School
2006 – Hayley Barbato, Boyle County High School and Julia Peterson, Danville High School
2005 – Whitney Englert and Rebecca Sweeney, Mason County High School
2004 – Alexandrea Higdon and Ashley Whitledge, Webster County High School
2003 – Tritney Beth Griffin, Henderson County High School
2002 – Lori Ann Nethery, Henry County High School
2001 – Andrea Heflin, McLean County High School 

Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601