Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


County News

Pension Working Group

A public pension working group has been created to review the structure of KRS along with the cost, benefits and funding.

FRANKFORT – The Kentucky General Assembly has formed a Public Pensions Working Group to review and analyze the state’s public pension systems. 

The working group, which was created by co-chairs of the Legislative Research Commission (LRC), pending ratification of the full LRC, will conduct a review of the systems’ structure, costs, benefits, and funding. 

The group’s first meeting will be held on Tuesday, Jan. 15, at 9:30 a.m. in Rm. 154 of the Capitol Annex. 

The panel will be co-chaired by Sen. Wil Schroder, R-Wilder, and Rep. Jerry Miller, R-Louisville. 

Other members are: Senate President Robert Stivers, R-Manchester; Senate Majority Floor Leader Damon Thayer, R-Georgetown; Sen. Jimmy Higdon, R-Lebanon; Sen. Christian McDaniel, R-Taylor Mill; Senate Minority Floor Leader Morgan McGarvey, D-Louisville; Senate Minority Caucus Chair Johnny Ray Turner, D-Prestonsburg; House Minority Caucus Chair Derrick Graham, D-Frankfort; Rep. R. Travis Brenda, R-Crab Orchard; Rep. Jim DuPlessis, R-Elizabethtown; Rep. Scott Lewis, R-Hartford; Rep. Diane St. Onge, R-Fort Wright; and Rep. Buddy Wheatley, D-Covington.

The working group is authorized to meet as often as necessary at the discretion of the co-chairs during the current General Assembly session, up to March 30, and, if necessary, can meet monthly during the 2019 legislative interim through Dec. 30.

The group is charged with making recommendations for General Assembly action by Feb. 15, although the group’s co-chairs can request an extension until March 1, if needed. If even more time is needed to gather information before making recommendations, the co-chairs can submit an additional request for an extension to Dec. 1.

Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601