Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


County News

Ballot set for election of county trustees on KRS board

By Gracie Lagadinos
The candidates were chosen during Thursday’s quarterly meeting of the Kentucky Retirement Systems (KRS) Board of Trustees.

Next year, County Employees Retirement System (CERS) members will have from Jan. 20 to March 1 to cast their ballots for three representatives from the nine candidates below to serve on the KRS Board of Trustees. These new members will continue to serve on the newly created CERS Board of Trustees established by House Bill 484 from the 2020 session.

That board officially begins its work on April 1, 2021. 

At the Sept. 10, 2020, KRS Board meeting, the trustees nominated the following nine individuals to be on the County Employees Retirement Systems (CERS) 2021 election ballot. Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Additional candidates may be added by petition. Petitions must be submitted no later than Nov. 30, 2020. Please see Nomination by Membership below for additional information.

Patricia Carver

Position: Current – Assistant Professor, Bellarmine University
Retired – Various, Louisville and Jefferson Metropolitan Sewer District (1987-99)
Residence: Prospect, Kentucky
Education: Doctor of Philosophy Leadership in Higher Education, Bellarmine University
Master of Business Administration, Bellarmine University
Bachelor of Science in Commerce Accounting, University of Louisville
Certifications: Certified Public Accountant
Associations: Louisville Metro United Way (Financial Committee Member since 2013)

Melanie Lilly

Position: Retired – Executive Administrator, Louisville-Jefferson County Metro Government (1992-2013)
Residence: Louisville, Kentucky
Education: Bachelor of Arts in Communications, Indiana University

Harold Monroe

Position: Executive Director, Pennyrile Allied Community Services, Inc.
Residence: Utica, Kentucky
Education: Master of Arts in Organizational Communications, Western Kentucky University
Bachelor of Science in Communication and History, Murray State University
Certifications: Certified Financial Planner
Certified Trust and Financial Advisor
Charted Financial Consultant
Charted Life Underwriter
Senior Professional in Human Resources
Global Professional in Human Resources

Betty Pendergrass

Position: Current CERS Elected Trustee
Retired – Various positions with county governments (1983-2014)
Residence: Bardstown, Kentucky
Education: Bachelor of Business Administration with High Distinction, Eastern Kentucky University
Completed AICPA Government CEA Program (1992)
Attend/teach at least 40 hours of continuing education each year (since 1975)
Certifications: Certified Public Accountant
Certified Government Financial Manager
Accredited Fiduciary
Associations: American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Government Finance Officers Association 
Kentucky Society of Certified Public Accountants
Association of Government Accountants 

Jason Potts

Position: Manager of Planning, Owensboro Municipal Utilities
Residence: Maceo, Kentucky
Education: Master of Science in Accounting, University of Kentucky
Bachelor of Science in Accounting, Kentucky Wesleyan University
Certifications: Certified Public Accountant
Associations: American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
Kentucky Society of Certified Public Accountants

Jerry Powell

Position: Current Elected CERS Trustee (since April 2017)
Retired – More than 37 years of law enforcement experience, 15 of those in supervisory roles.
Residence: Georgetown, Kentucky
Education: Bachelor of Science in Police Administration, Eastern Kentucky University
Department of Criminal Justice Training
Certifications: Multiple law enforcement certifications and numerous commendations and recognitions of service and professionalism throughout career.
Associations: Kentucky Public Retirees (Bluegrass East Chapter President)
Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police
Fraternal Order of Police (Bluegrass Lodge #4)
Kentucky State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police Pension Committee
Concerns of Police Survivors
International Critical Incident Stress Foundation

David Rich

Position: Current CERS Elected Trustee (since November 2013)
Retired – Louisville Fire Department (1973-2000)
Residence: Louisville, Kentucky
Education: Business Degree from Oxford Business College in Louisville, Kentucky
Kentucky Instructor Level II, University of Kentucky
OSHA Outreach Trainer, Eastern Kentucky University
Certifications: Journeyman Ironworker/Certified Welder
OSHA 500 Construction Outreach Trainer
Certified Safety Officer
Emergency Medical Technician
FEMA Safety and Survival Instructor
CPR/AED/First Aid Instructor
ISO 14001 Environmental Management Lead Auditor
Associations: Kentucky Safety and Health Network, Inc.
Silver Creek Little League Coach and Safety Officer
YMCA Youth Basketball Coach

Ronald Scott

Position: Retired - Acting City Manager, City of Danville (2011-20)
Retired - Associate Executive Director, Kentucky League of Cities (1975-2001)
Residence: Danville, Kentucky
Education: Master of Public Science in Public Administration, Western Kentucky University
Bachelor of Arts in Government and Sociology, Western Kentucky University
Certifications: Master of City Government
Associate in Risk Management
Certified Grant Writer
Associations: Kentucky City/County Management Association
Danville Rotary Club, Board Member
Boyle Landmark Trust, Board Member
Danville Regional Arts Center, Board Member

Charles "Jack" Wright

Position: Retired – Stormwater Manager for Warren County Fiscal Court (1993-2019)
Residence: Woodburn, Kentucky
Education: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Tech and Accounting, Western Kentucky University
Certifications: Professional Engineer
Associations: Woodburn Community Fire Department (current Treasurer)
Woodburn Baptist Church (current Treasurer)

Election timetable

  • Nov. 30, 2020 - Last day to file a petition to be placed on the election ballot.
  • Dec. 31, 2020 - Ballots prepared.
  • Jan. 20, 2021 - Ballots made available/mailed to membership.
  • March 1, 2021 - Date by which votes must be cast/ballot must be postmarked.
  • March 15, 2021 - Ballots tabulated.
  • April 1, 2021 - Winners of election begin term of office.
Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601