Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Interim legislative session underway in Frankfort

Committee meeting schedule released, lawmakers assigned to special task forces

State lawmakers returned to the capital this week for the start of committee meetings during the interim legislative session, which runs June-December.

Legislators will hear updates from state government agencies and testimony from other stakeholders on topics that typically set the stage for the regular session in January. A weekly legislative calendar and the full interim calendar are available on the Legislative Research Commission website.

Legislative task forces

Four special committees will meet over the next several months.

Artificial Intelligence Task Force

This task force will identify how other states and Kentucky government agencies are using artificial intelligence (AI), gather information on how AI could benefit government operations, and identify possible legislative initiatives needed to provide consumer protection related to AI.


  • Sen. Amanda Mays Bledsoe (Co-chair)
  • Rep. Josh Bray (Co-chair)
  • Sen. Stephen Meredith
  • Sen. Brandon Storm
  • Sen. Reggie Thomas
  • Sen. Gex Williams
  • Rep. John Blanton
  • Rep. Derek Lewis
  • Rep. Suzanne Miles
  • Rep. Pamela Stevenson 

Efficient & Effective School District Governance Task Force

This task force pertains to school districts with more than 75,000 students (Jefferson County Public Schools).


  • Sen. Michael Nemes (Co-chair)
  • Rep. Kim Banta (Co-chair)
  • Sen. Gerald Neal
  • Sen. Lindsey Tichenor
  • Rep. Tina Bojanowski
  • Rep. Ken Fleming

Kentucky Housing Task Force

This task force will study housing issues related to access, availability, costs, laws, regulations and homeownership.


  • Sen. Robby Mills (Co-chair)
  • Rep. Susan Witten (Co-chair)
  • Sen. Julie Raque Adams
  • Sen. Jimmy Higdon
  • Sen. Stephen West
  • Sen. David Yates
  • Rep. Kevin Bratcher
  • Rep. Randy Bridges
  • Rep. Lindsey Burke
  • Rep. Mike Clines

Workforce Attraction & Retention Task Force

This task force will review how communities and states are marketing quality of life and job opportunities to attract and retain workers. Committee members will review current education and workforce development programs, economic and labor force data, opportunities for public-private partnerships and other workforce topics.


  • Sen. Max Wise (Co-chair)
  • Rep. Robert Duvall (Co-chair)
  • Sen. Greg Elkins
  • Sen. Shelley Funke Frommeyer
  • Sen. Jason Howell
  • Sen. Robin Webb
  • Rep. Josh Branscum
  • Rep. Matthew Koch
  • Rep. Michael Sarge Pollock
  • Rep. Ashley Tackett Laferty


More County News